Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weeping Tiles & French Drain

Hello, this my first post.
    I would like to endeavor on waterproofing 2 foundation walls however, I’m an amateur and need to first ask about the french drain and weeping tiles.

The house is built 1953 and I don’t know what exists for weeping tile system. Judging from the French drain, it appears there is at least one weeping tile under the foundation along one wall. I would assume it would be made of clay.

The question I have is;
    Should I be installing a modern weeping tiles? If so, how and where should I connect? I’m thinking this goes to the sewer drain and not the storm drain like modern systems do.
    Attached Files

Are you waterproofing from inside or outside? The picture attached sump pit no sump no water? Drain tiles are typically laid on outside level with footer and one bleeder per wall through footer and under slab. It is probably clay tiles. Polypropylene came out in the late 70s do you have any pictures. Yes the new drain tiles are much better.

Comment

No not dry, there is about one inch of water at bottom of sump pit. I intend to waterproof from exterior. I’m not sure if you’re asking for pics of the drain tiles from exterior, but I haven’t excavated yet.

If there are drain tiles all way around, it looks as though they would all be connected to the one bleeder pipe that can be seen in the sump pit. Or alternatively, there are 4 “slot” looking holes, one on each side of sump pit. Possibly those are for the the drain tiles, but I’m thinking they are more likely there as an auxiliary in case needed. I’ll see if I can confirm this with local cement casting Co.

btw, the bottom whole in sump pit has a clear shot towards the street at front of house. I stuck a garden hose at full and the water level didn’t even rise.

I’ll post pic of the “slot” I mentioned.

Comment

Click image for larger version

Name:	41930A7B-9623-47E9-8F42-414B3BB57375.jpeg
Views:	21