More than one way to fix a basement leak

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• More than one way to fix a basement leak

I'm a newbie to basements and would like an opinion on possible ways to fix a basement leak.

Background:
    House is a 1971 ranch that is on a hill. No sump pump has ever been installed and the basement was always dry.
    Now there seems to be a small leak from leaving water running on the outside faucet. In the back of the house no amount of water running next to the foundation will enter the basement. But in the front there seems to be a problem. The basement is finished so finding the leak has been a problem.
    After tearing out some drywall it still is not that apparent. I would need to tear out the 2x4 footer, I suspect its leaking where the wall meets the floor.

It only leaks in the area directly below where the outside faucet is.
    One might think (don't leave the hose running) good point! The leak is not from ground water but from water running down from above. Rain, water, melting snow.

I've had a few people look at it and they both want to demolish the basement. They want to cut the walls out at the bottom and dig a trench with a gutter like pipe leading to a sump pump. Its going to make a mess and does not include all the drywall fix and painting needed after.

No one ever mentioned fixing it from the outside. I don't like the idea of just letting it come in, it will create a nice channel for bugs and mold. (the gutter has slits in it for any wall leaks, so its open to the air) It will outgas into the finished wall and probably create new issues.

I found out that my home has a drain tile system that is tied into the basement floor drain. My guess is its old and plugged up.

What are my options for outside fix?

I'm thinking of